Monthly Posts – OPIHI Field Trip

Hi everyone,

This post I guess I would consider a part 2 to my other post POL. Anyways, today I will be explaining about OPIHI in more detail. This field trip was so much fun. We went to Sand Island Beach Park. Luckily, there weren’t strong waves, but there were small ones here and there. There 6 eighth graders and three teachers who went on the trip with us. Those eighth graders helped us collect data, help us identifying the algae, and they took pictures. Those pictures were for POL on Friday. They used i-pads and when we saw the slideshow, the pictures came pretty clear.

Anyways, back to the actual field trip, we were in a group of three. Those groups that we were in were also for a mock trial of this field trip. Our teacher made a mock trial to prepare us for what we are supposed to do on this field trip. When we got to Sand Island, we had to walk in the sand with shoes. It was hard to walk and sand got into our shoes which were kind of annoying. So when we found where we’re supposed to “camp out”, we set everything up. Then we measured the distance for each group. Once we were done my partner and I went out into the ocean while the other partner watched waves. We were supposed to go to knee-high, which we did.

Then we started to collect data. First, we were supposed to measure every 1 meter, and then find algae around that meter. Then I was to record what we think the type of algae is. It was a hot but nice day. Then when we finished that, we were to do the transect, where we measure so many half meters, then we put a square with wire that creates squares. Then we look through each square and record what we see. I almost feel twice, one getting down to the ocean and one losing my balance in the ocean. But I was okay. Since we were ahead, we were allowed to help the other groups who needed help. That’s when I got wetter since it was getting later in the morning, the tide got higher. Since it was getting higher, Jenny and I got our shorts wet. That was a really fun field trip and I wish I could do it again.

That’s all for today,

hmsshayann

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*